National Junior Honor Society » National Junior Honor Society

National Junior Honor Society

The National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) is an international student organization that consists of chapters in middle schools (in the range of grades 6-9 depending on the school). The NJHS was founded by the National Association of Secondary School Principals in 1929, and today has chapters in the United States, other U.S. territories, and around the world.

To be considered for membership, applicants must reach the five standards which include leadership, citizenship, character, service, and scholarship. Membership is based on "outstanding scholarship, character, leadership, service, and citizenship." Once selected, these members have the responsibility to demonstrate these qualities through various service-learning opportunities on campus and in the community.

The Frank Newman Middle School Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society works with the campus administration, staff, student body, and community to provide opportunities for students to participate in volunteer activities. These activities include, but are not limited to, campus service projects, various fundraisers, community service events in Cotulla and surrounding areas, as well as allowing students to attend an end of the school year service/field trip.

The current 8th grade members of the Frank Newman Middle School – NJHS are:

Benavidez, Jolie

Bryant, Elijah

Crain, George

Del Toro, Juliana

Garcia, Aliyana

Garcia, Emma

Garcia, Isabella

Garcia, Mykelle

Hernandez, Nathan

Lovell, Jules

Munoz, Hector

Ramirez, Christian

Renteria, Eli

Reyes, Landon

Sanchez, Daniella

Sanchez, Mason

Segura, Anavae

Walker, Bayleigh